February 13, 2019

Takano, Roe Statement on HVAC Subcommittee Chairs and Ranking Members for 116th Congress

WASHINGTON, DC – Today, House Committee on Veterans’ Affairs Chairman Mark Takano and House Committee on Veterans’ Affairs Ranking Member Dr. Phil Roe announced the Members selected to lead the Committee’s subcommittees in the 116th Congress:

“I’m proud that our Committee’s membership better reflects the increasingly diverse veterans population in our country,” said Chairman Mark Takano (D-CA). “Acknowledging the contributions of our nation’s veterans, regardless of race, gender, or sexual orientation is a hallmark of my VA 2030 vision and a necessary step toward guaranteeing all our veterans the benefits and recognition they deserve. Together, our Committee will leverage the experiences of our Members, Republican and Democrat, and deliver bipartisan solutions for our nation’s veterans that improve access to care and benefits, while maintaining transparency and accountability at VA.”

“It was great to finally have the 116th Congress’ full House Committee on Veterans Affairs’ come together for the first time ever,” said Full Committee Ranking Member Dr. Phil Roe (R-Tenn.). “During the organizational meeting, I was encouraged by the members’ enthusiasm to work on behalf of our nation’s veterans. This committee has always had a naturally bipartisan nature to it, and I know that under the leadership of Chairman Takano that will continue. We have lots of work ahead of us as we monitor the implementation of the many bills that were signed into law last Congress, like the VA MISSION Act and the VA Accountability and Whistleblower Protection Act. On top of that, I know we will continue to work hard to improve and modernize VA as we strive to ensure that our veterans receive the best services and support possible.”

House Committee on Veterans’ Affairs Vice Chair:
Congressman Conor Lamb
Vice Ranking Member
Congresswoman Amata Coleman Radewagen
Subcommittee on Disability Assistance and Memorial Affairs:
Chair: Congresswoman Elaine Luria
Ranking Member: Congressman Mike Bost
Subcommittee on Economic Opportunity:
Chair: Congressman Mike Levin
Ranking Member: Congressman Gus M. Bilirakis
Subcommittee on Health:
Chair: Congresswoman Julia Brownley
Ranking Member: Congressman Dr. Neal Dunn
Subcommittee on Oversight and Investigations:
Chair: Congressman Chris Pappas
Ranking Member: Congressman Jack Bergman
Subcommittee on Technology Modernization:
Chair: Congresswoman Susie Lee
Ranking Member: Congressman Jim Banks